Beginners mistakes to avoid

Beginners mistakes to avoid

When above heading is topic, then it is always a experience of someone.

There are tons of articles on this topic on the Internet. what this is about then?

Each article speaks to the experience of the writer. This is also the same.

When I decided to write, I had a lot of things to share. But when I'm writing, even I myself forgot what to share😜.

Mean, like there are a lot. Let's go one by one.

Throughout this article, I'll share my experience from the development of my automation framework.

Clean and understandable code

Everyone would have done these mistakes. I've suffered a lot from these. After a break when I saw my java code and methods, even I don't understand what I did. 🤦‍♂️ Then how come someone who wants to collaborate with me will understand? That's the time I realized why everyone mentioned this. Below are some points you need to make sure of before you start a project.

  1. Proper coding standards - Say Strictly NO to variable names like (a, b, temp etc.,)

  2. Use comments - write the use of methods or how it works, so you and everyone seeing the code can understand what it is. This is the must-do rule in a larger code base and working with a big team.

  3. Give better names for functions, class names and folder names.

Have a proper plan before starting

Yes, you need a plan. If not no problem, you just have to put in some extra effort to correct it later.

When I started my project, without any plans it went somewhere and now I look at it, It's hard to maintain and has no adaptability for change. All I had in my mind is that we need to try something different which is not a problem, but resulting in not having any industry standards and not worth for long time use which results in creating everything from scratch with all learning I already had.

For me this is not bad, cause learned some new things like do's and dont's.

Have a better end-to-end explanation of your code/project

Yes, this is also important. when you're a working professional or a college student, If someone asks, what is this all about? then you should be ready to answer shortly and crisply.

I did this mistake. when someone asked me about my project I can't give an overall idea of it. Instead, I got confused and started to blabber...

Don't stay longer in tutorials and videos

Yeah, it'll be long and never-ending if you try to complete everything. Start doing something, there'll be mistakes but you'll get new ideas or do things in a better way and can learn things in real-time.

image.png

In my case, I know this already which I'm proud of, so I'm not the one who struck at tutorials but I see many people like that. My blog, articles, GitHub repositories and its projects, everything is because I started doing Something (In my case what interests me). Everything is a series of events that leads to another.

Just go for project-based learning once you're strong with fundamentals.

Below are some unusual topics...

Decide versions of everything you're going to use

For a beginner, it's hard to decide. If something real and big you're going to create then this should be a matter. I'm just sharing an overview of this issue and chances are high that these issues may happen.

When you add a new package in the future will not support existing packages and there'll be contradictions with the code etc.,

For example, my college project which is in python will work in my local system only and will support certain versions of python. And then, the issue with TensorFlow which I'm using is an older version from that time, when I try to deploy online with Heroku it does not support that version of TensorFlow. If I change or try to upgrade to a supportable version of Heroku, it affects other packages.

pexels-andrea-piacquadio-3791136.jpg

Yes, it's exhausting but needs to be handled.

Adaptability and user friendly

If someone who may be your project mate or colleague wants to collaborate on your project, want to use your code and see how it works, the time to set up your project in their machine should be less and not with errors or exceptions.

If it is working locally, will not work in every system. Earlier I said about version issues, those problems may happen.

Always think about whether will it work in low-spec systems during the development of the project.

If working now, may or may not work tomorrow

Some library changes may happen which you're using today causes the code to stop running. Again, this is a very rare case which not happen every time.

Think of it from an end-to-end perspective before implementing something even if it takes some time.

Note down things like not working or needing to be improved or you're not sure about the implementation. Don't miss it out, you can do it later also.

Quick Recap...

  • Clean and understandable code

  • Have a proper plan before starting

  • Have a better end-to-end explanation of your code/project

  • Don't stay longer in tutorials and videos

  • Decide versions of everything you're going to use

  • Adaptability and user friendly

  • If working now, may or may not work tomorrow

The above points are also for me to remember things when doing projects. If I missed out some other mistakes, Comments are always welcome.