Why I hate some interviews ?

Why I hate some interviews ?

·

6 min read

Disclaimer: This is completely in my mind and I'm not blaming anyone.

Let me share my thoughts about interviews.

First impression

Everyone says the first impression is the best. My point is, it is the worst impression.

Just consider the scenario, you're going to see a person for 1st time. He may/may not give you a job. But from your point of view, you just need the job.

With that perspective in mind, you're just going to "ACT" like you're the perfect candidate. Whatever the condition HR says, you'll just say "yes, it's fine with me".

What is wrong about telling your real intentions and queries in interviews? (Please share in comments if it is a problem). At end of the day, the Employer needs an employee and vice versa. At least let the interviewee be honest.

No one knows someone by 1st impression. If you choose someone because of 1st impression, as many will act (my point of view), I would say it is the worst impression.

I don't know like why no one thought about this perspective and still thinks 1st impression is the best impression. If you want to judge, try a different way.

During the interview

Below are things they say that'll irritate HR are,

Salary over career opportunities

Somewhere I saw "Don't give the impression you are only interested in salary; don't ask about salary and benefits issues until the subject is brought up by the employer." - why not I'm not allowed to ask, I'm the one who is going to work. why should I not ask?

If the interviewer asks the reason for switching the job - why we cannot say salary? Everyone in the world knows money is important but they still hesitate, cause it'll irritate HR to tell salary is important. Then why are they paying that nice salary?

At end of the day, whether everyone agrees or not, organizations need good employees who give nice work and employees need good salaries and growth.

I don't know what's wrong with openness and honesty.

Judge me with my work, not by my 1st impression

Here is the quote "Don't judge a book by its cover". Then why there is a dress code part in interview tips and interviewers noticing the first impression etc.,

I don't know how someone judges me with 1st impression. As I mentioned earlier, to get the first impression, I'm going to act only.

The best workaround I would say is, to give them an Internship, share knowledge and judge whether they'll fit or not.

Disclosing things btw. Interviewer and Interviewee

If a hiring manager wishes not to disclose a few things in the interview, will the same rules be applicable to candidates?

Yeah, things like salary range will not be disclosed in most cases.

What if the interviewee doesn't want to disclose their current CTC or other information? Will the interviewer accept that?

Double-minded thoughts

Tests to shortlist

I'm not great at solving aptitude and clearing those rounds but still, when it comes to working in real-time I'm giving my best of me with the tasks assigned. My thoughts are like the aptitudes not helping me in real-time. It's not related to my work. Then why do aptitude rounds?

As far as my understanding is, it is conducted to shortlist candidates who have high problem-solving skills. The issue I see here is, my work-related problems are not like "Two train approach each other at 30 km/hr and 27 km/hr. From two places 342 km. apart. After how much time will they meet?"

Till now, I've not used it anywhere in my work. Though others say If you solve this your problem-solving skills will be improved.

College studies are not matching with work

Yes, in college I studied a lot of topics in the IT Domain (studying everything from basic will give me wide exposure) but I'm not using everything now. When it comes to working it'll be in a certain domain only.

Instead of college, a particular domain-related course with placement seems better to me. Again it's completely my thought process.

Judging candidates based on degrees they hold or pursuing

Everyone knows organizations do it like I'm a Bachelor's in science graduate who had a different interview experience compared to my friends who are from the Engineering field.

I'm not even eligible for attending interviews with engineering candidates because of my degree. How can someone not allow me to at least attend the interview?

When I heard about the interview experience of engineering candidates, felt like I also know the answers and I'm ready to answer perfectly, then why am I not allowed to?

Real-life experience: My close friend worked as an intern in the SAP domain for around 6 months, did projects, and tasks and then left the company. With that, he attended another interview for a fresher role as same as he worked. Initially scheduled an interview but before a phone call conversation, they heard that he is a B.Sc graduate.

They rejected him as he is not a B.E Graduate. Still, did B.E Freshers of any stream who may or may not have an idea of SAP, greater than a person who knows the basics of SAP from 6 months as an intern exp and has a B.Sc degree in computer technology?

A big Why...?

Additional things

  • If someone is late for an interview or unable to the meeting join in time, just wait for another 10 mins. I know it's not feasible in all cases, If possible don't hesitate. The reason I'm sharing is no one knows what is the situation of others. In my case, I don't have my laptop handy. So I used my friend's laptop for attending an interview. When the host lets me in, my total system got hanged. I'm able to hear them, but they are not able to hear me. Later no replies from them or rescheduled.

    I'm not saying, If it happened I would be selected but I've just lost an interview experience.

  • Notice period😒

    Interviewer - I think you'll be suitable for this role as someone left.

    Interviewee - Good, please consider me.

    Interviewer - What is your Notice period?

    Interviewee - It's 90 days.

    Interviewer - Is that? It's too long. we are looking for immediate joiners.

    Interviewee - Ok fine. I think our paths are not matching. Before that just have one more question. What is a notice period, when an employee wants to leave your company?

    Interviewer - It's just 90 days...

    Awkward silence...😑

    Anyway, These are my own opinions. If you have contradictions or some parts that can be explained, Always comments are welcome.

    Thank you.